Empty House

A friend sent out the following email that brought a smile along with it. We hope you enjoy it, too! (with permission…)

Hi All!

So Robyn took the kiddos and made for Hawaii for a few weeks.  Krista (Robyn’s sister) is getting married today…congrats by the way and welcome to the family Matt!  So I’ve been stuck at home for about 2 weeks on my own.

I figured Robyn would at least leave me some food or something to survive on while she was gone…not so much.  I found myself having to rely on my survival training to get by.  I built a few snares the first evening which have paid off…apparently there are a lot of squirrels in the neighborhood.  I had a hard time getting a fire going, but apparently I just didn’t use enough gas the first few times.  Hopefully the land lord won’t be too upset by the scorched wall in the backyard.  I did find the commissary on base, but am having a hard time figuring out these frozen food packages.  They are cold and very hard, not sure how to get them to the hot and tasty phase that I usually find them on the table.  The plastic packaging tends to just burn up over the fire and although you can spear the contents when they are froze (takes some effort) they tend to fall apart as they warm up.  All you end up with is a bunch of burnt stuff mixed up with the burnt wood in the fire.  I tried the cans that the commissary sells.  They are tough to get into.  I thought maybe they would pop open as the can heated up…bad move.  I had to abandon the dinning room after that can of beans exploded in the fire and relocate my shelter.  Not sure when we’ll be able to use that room again.

I did find MREs (Meals Ready to Eat) at the commissary.  Those I know how to prepare…lucky thing too, the dogs were next if I didn’t find something to supplement the squirrels…besides the dogs eat too much.  Warmth was easy to find, it’s always hot here in Alabama.  The problem was clean clothes.  There’s the pool in the back yard that I could wash in, but that was also my drinking water…talk about a dilemma.  But it started raining yesterday, so I built a water catchment system out of a tarp and some hoses that I found attached to the house.  So now I’ve got water to wash in.  And the extra rain is filling the pool back up so I’ll have enough drinking water until Robyn gets back.

When I broke the hose loose of the wall, water started to rush out.  I’ve now got a free flowing spring just outside my yard.  Hopefully that won’t dry up anytime soon as it’s a great water supply.  Only problem was that it started to flow into the house.  I had to figure out a way to block that water or it would have washed out my camp fire.  The stuffing in the kids beds and their clothes worked great to stop the water from flowing into the house.  I also had a problem with the smoke fromt he fire collecting in the house.  It took some work, but I was able to cut a hole in the roof to vent the smoke out.

I also discovered some grubs and edible plans in the back yard.  That was a bit of a challenge.  Apparently you shouldn’t eat plants that are waxy and have three pointed leaves bunched together.  Someone mentioned something about “leaves of three, let it be” or something like that.  All I know is I had a horrible rash around my mouth for a few days.  But according to the survival manual, rubbing fish liver on a rash is a good cure.  So I tried that and it cleared up in a couple of days.  There was also something about using a Skunk, but I haven’t seen any of them around here.

I got my rescue signals put out.  Apparently someone took notice of them, the family across the street has invited me to dinner tonight.  I’ll have to see what kind of resources they have, maybe they’ll trade with me.  Although, now that I’ve got smoked squirrel, plenty of grubs, humming bird eggs, and weeds I should be good until Robyn gets home.  Robyn and the kiddos get home on Thursday, can’t wait to see them again.  Apparently Tori has started crawling and the eight adults haven’t been able to keep up with the 2 little ones.

Have a great weekend!

Mark

Leave a Reply

